24-28 February 2020
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics
Asia/Novosibirsk timezone

Growth of Li2MoO4 crystals at Center for Underground Physics

Not scheduled
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

11, akademika Lavrentieva prospect, Novosibirsk, Russia
Board: 60
Poster Instrumentation for Astroparticle and Neutrino physics


Mr Daeyeon Kim (Istitute for Basic Science)


The Center for Underground Physics (CUP) of Institute for Basic Science is searching for the neutrinoless double beta decay (0νββ) of 100Mo in the molybdate crystals of the Advanced Molybdenum-based Rare-process Experiment (AMoRE). The experiment requires ultra-pure scintillation crystals to minimize internal backgrounds that can affect the 0νββ signal. For the last few years, we have been growing and studying Li2MoO4 crystals in a clean-environment facility to minimize external contamination during crystal growth. Before using 100MoO3 powder, we have studied Li2natMoO4 crystal growth with various purities of natMoO3 powder using a conventional Czochralski (CZ) grower. Purities of the grown crystals were measured by HPGe detector and ICP-MS method after the compositions were confirmed thorough X-ray diffraction (XRD) measurements. The results show that the Li2MoO4 crystal has a few advantages in growth and purities compared with other molybdate crystals. Two enriched Li2100MoO4 crystals with 100MoO3 powder (100Mo isotope ratio > 95%) were grown and their purities and composition were confirmed. We plan to carry out mass production of ~100 kg of crystal elements for the AMoRE in the future with three CZ growers at the CUP. In this study, we are going to present the growth of Li2MoO4 crystals at CUP and their purities.

Primary author

Mr Daeyeon Kim (Istitute for Basic Science)


Mr Cheol Ho Lee (Institute for Basic Science) Ms Eun Kyung Lee (Institute for Basic Science) Prof. Hong Joo Kim (Kyungpook National University) Prof. Hyang Kyu Park (Korea University) Mr Ju Kyung Son (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Jun Seok Choe (Institute for Basic Science) Ms Keon Ah Shin (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Moo Hyun Lee (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Olga Gileva (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Se Jin Ra (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Woon Gu Kang (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Yeong Duk Kim (Institute for Basic Science)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.