Characteristic of d-f states in DyNi2Mn and ErCo2Mn compounds with strong electronic correlations by resonant photoemission

13 Jul 2020, 21:11
Poster X-ray spectroscopy Poster Session


Ekaterina Ponomareva (M.N. Miheev Institute of Metal Physics UB RAS)


Investigation of intermetallic compounds have been increasingly attractive due to their structural and magnetic properties and the possibility of developing new functional materials based on them. The compounds RT2Mn (R = Dy, Er; T = Ni, Co) crystallize in cubic MgCu2 – type structure by alloying 3d transition metal (T) and rare-earth (R). Certain amount of manganese is introduced in compounds of this type led to a change in the characteristics of materials [1].
The interplay of d-and f-elements and its effect on the formation of the electronic structure in such compounds as DyNi2Mn and ErCo2Mn are studied. The method used resonant x-ray photoemission spectroscopy allows to select the contributions of the various components in the valence bands (VB). We can study not only the ground state, but also the lifetime of the excited (a core-level hole – VB electron) state, determine energies of the VB single-particle states and two-hole states at selected atoms, see reactions to sudden appearance of the core-level photo-hole. Resonant photoemission in narrow-band materials is described by the sum of first- and second order transitions, their quantum-mechanical interference leads to an increase in the spectrum from the valence bands and the appearance of an asymmetric dependence on the photon energy. Recently, these effects were studied theoretically and experimentally using the example of three-component intermetallic compounds TbNi2Mnx [2]. The competition between the elastic and inelastic photoemission channels leads to a different dependence of photoemission spectra from nickel and manganese on photon energy. The elastic channel is realized on atoms with large magnetic moments, the inelastic Auger decay occurs on atoms with small moments.
The research was supported by RFBR project № 20-02-00541.

Primary authors

Ekaterina Ponomareva (M.N. Miheev Institute of Metal Physics UB RAS) Vladimir Grebennikov (IMP UrO RAN) Mr Dmitry Smirnov (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin f¨ur Materialien und Energie GmbH (HZB) ) Mr Evgeniy Gerasimov (M.N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics (IMP); Ural Federal University [Ekaterinburg] (UrFU)) Mr Pavel Terent`yev (M.N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics (IMP); Ural Federal University [Ekaterinburg] (UrFU)) Mr Aleksandr Inishev (M.N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics (IMP) ) Mr Nikolay Mushnikov (M.N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics (IMP); Ural Federal University [Ekaterinburg] (UrFU)) Prof. Tatyana Kuznetsova (M.N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics UB RAS, Ekaterinburg, Russia )

Presentation Materials