The 7th International symposium NIBS'20 (Negative Ions, Beams and Sources) will be hosted as a videoconference spread over the period 1-11 September 2020. It will be conducted as a virtual joint event with the institutions involved in negative ion beam and sources activity.  Staff from BINP, UKRI-STFC, University of Auckland, IPP, SNS, D-Pace, LANL, LAPLACE, NIFS, QST, IPR and Doshisha University have volunteered to help.  The sessions will be in 4 different time zones in 4 hour sessions.  All sessions will be recorded so everyone will be able to view at a time of their choosing.The symposium will be focused on the various aspects of the production and use of negative ions. The symposium addresses to the wide negative ion research community as well as to the scientists and engineers interested in the negative ion beams and sources. The NIBS'20 contributions are planned to publish at AIP Conference proceedings.


  1. Fundamental processes and modelling
  2. H– and D– sources for fusion, accelerators and other applications
  3. Other negative ion sources
  4. Beam formation and low energy transport
  5. Beam acceleration and neutralization
  6. Beam lines and facilities
  7. Applications

Important Dates

Registration and Abstract Submission Open                     1 April 2020

Abstract Submission Deadline                                               9   August 2020

Presentation Upload Deadline                                             31 August 2020


International Program Committee

  • M. Bacal, UPMC, France
  • Y. Belchenko, BINP, Russia
  • C. Corr, Australian National University, Australia
  • D. Faircloth, UKRI-STFC, UK
  • G. Fubiani, LAPLACE/CNRS/Univ. of Toulouse, France
  • A. Holmes, Marcham Scientific, UK
  • Y. Hwang, SNU, Korea
  • A. Ivanov, BINP/Novosibirsk State University, Russia
  • M. Kashiwagi, JAEA, Japan
  • W. Kraus, IPP, Germany
  • J. Lettry, CERN, Switzerland
  • R. McAdams, CCFE, UK
  • Y. Mori, Kyoto University, Japan
  • B. Schunke, ITER Organisation, France
  • M. Singh, IPR, India
  • M. Stöckli, ORNL, USA
  • Y. Takeiri, NIFS, Japan
  • M. Wada, Doshisha University,Japan
  • A. Zelenskii, BNL,USA
Registration for this event is currently open.
The call for abstracts is open
You can submit an abstract for reviewing.