NIBS Award

The NIBS Award, donated by D-Pace Inc. is presented for outstanding recent contributions to the fields of physics, theory, technology and/or applications of sources, low energy beam transport, or diagnostics of negative ions.

The first NIBS Award was presented at the NIBS`14 Symposium in Garching to the IPP plasma physics group for their outstanding work on large negative ion sources, including the recent ELISE test rig.

The next NIBS Awards were presented:

  •  at the NIBS`16 Symposium in Oxford - to the Japanese team of K. Tsumori, Y. Takeiri, K. Ikeda, and H. Nakano from the National Institute for Fusion Science and the SOKENDAI Graduate University for Advanced Studies, for “significant contributions in many areas of negative ion based neutral beam injectors; diagnostics and physics of the beam source, technological and theoretical aspects of beam sources and their application to neutral beam injectors”.
  • at the NIBS`18 Symposium in Novosibirsk - to the international team of A.A. Ivanov, V.I. Davydenko, A.V. Kolmogorov from the Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia and A.N. Zelenskii from the Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, NY, USA for their outstanding work on the development of high-intensity polarized H- ion source for RHIC SPIN physics.

The tradition of NIBS Award will be continued, and the fourth NIBS Award, donated by D-Pace Inc will be presented at the NIBS’2020 Online Symposium as well. 

The detailed "NIBS Award rules" can be downloaded from the bottom area at the overview page of the site. Submissions for the NIBS Award should be sent in electronic form (pdf or MS Word) to the administrator of the prize. The deadline for submission of the Preliminary Nominations is July 11, 2020.

The International Program Committee will choose the winning nomination and the Award winners will be announced at the Symposium NIBS Award session.