27 February 2017 to 3 March 2017
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics
Asia/Novosibirsk timezone

The detector on the basis of drift chambers for inclined muon bundle investigations

28 Feb 2017, 17:00
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

11, akademika Lavrentieva prospect, Novosibirsk, Russia
Board: 48
Poster Instrumentation for Astroparticle and Neutrino physics Posters


Mr Egor Zadeba (MEPhI)


The large-scale coordinate-tracking detector TREK for registration of inclined EAS is being developed in MEPhI. The use of large drift chambers (4000x508x112 mm$^3$) developed in IHEP for experiments at the neutrino channel of U-70 accelerator will allow to create a unique large-scale detector of 270 m$^2$ area for registration of multi-particle events at large zenith angles generated by ultrahigh-energy cosmic ray particles. The key advantages of these chambers are a large effective area (1.85 m$^2$), a good coordinate and angular resolution with a small number of measuring channels. Detector will be operated as a part of the experimental complex NEVOD, in particular, jointly with Cherenkov water detector (CWD) with volume of 2000 m$^2$ and coordinate detector DECOR. The first part of the detector named Coordinate-Tracking Unit based on the Drift Chambers (CTUDC) representing two coordinate planes of 8 drift chambers in each has been developed and mounted on the opposite sides of the CWD. It has the same principle of joint operation with NEVOD-DECOR triggering system so the main features of the TREK detector will be examined. Results of an examination of drift chambers and their electronics with new test benches, a calibration of the CTUDC and the first results of its joint operation with NEVOD-DECOR complex are presented.

Primary author

Mr Egor Zadeba (MEPhI)


Mr Alexander Ovechkin (MEPhI) Dr Anatoly Borisov (IHEP) Dr Anatoly Kozhin (Institute for High Energy Physics, 142281, Protvino, Moscow reg., Russian Federation) Dr Anatoly Petrukhin (MEPhI) Dr Igor Yashin (MEPhI) Dr Konstantin Kompaniets (MEPhI) Dr Natalya Barbashina (MEPhI) Mr Nikolay Ampilogov (MEPhI) Mr Nikolay Volkov (MEPhI) Dr Rinat Fakhrutdinov (IHEP) Dr Rostislav Kokoulin (MEPhI) Mr Vladislav Vorobyev (MEPhI)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.