27 February 2017 to 3 March 2017
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics
Asia/Novosibirsk timezone

Developing of muon system for TAIGA experiment

28 Feb 2017, 17:00
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics

11, akademika Lavrentieva prospect, Novosibirsk, Russia
Board: 58
Poster Instrumentation for Astroparticle and Neutrino physics Posters


Mr Pavel Kirilenko (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics)


One of experimental methods of astrophysics at energies from 10 TeV and higher is the registration of extensive air showers (EAS). Herewith, one of the main objectives, appearing during EAS registration, is primary particle identification. EAS, produced by proton or nucleus, content 30-50 times more muons than EAS, produced by gamma-quanta with the same energy. This way, muon component of shower registration can give extra information about primary particle. Muon registration is performed by scintillation detectors. Within the TAIGA experiment (Tunka Advanced Instrument for cosmic-ray physics and Gamma Astronomy), it is suggested to construct the EAS’s muon component registration system on the area of about 5 sq.km. Muon system must include two layers of detectors, which will be placed on a surface and underground for separation of the muon component of a shower. The total detection area must cover more than 0.1% of the total area of the observatory. That means that one of the main requirements to the developed detector is a low cost. The design of a scintillation counter with wavelength shifters was developed. The use of wavelength shifters for collection of a scintillation light allows using of PMT’s with small photocathode diameter, that decreases counter’s price. For technology verification, counter prototype with scintillator area of 0.25 sq.m., was created. Prototype was successfully tested with nature muon background, what proved applicability of chosen design. At present, assembly of a counter with scintillator area of 1 sq.m, placed in sealed container made from stainless steel, is in progress.

Primary author

Mr Pavel Kirilenko (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics)


Mr Alexander Barnyakov (BINP, NSU, NSTU) Mr Andrey Sokolov (Budker INP) Dr Evgeniy Kravchenko (Budker INP) Mr Sergey Kononov (BINP)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.